Writers quote- Emily Dickinson

Writers quote- Emily Dickinson

image

It’s writers quote Wednesday again and this time I chose to share a quote from Emily Dickinson. I have a feeling that this isn’t the first time I’ld be submitting an Emily quote, but the wisdom behind her words really, is astonishing, I can’t resist the urge not to share it.

Emily Dickinson was a loner for the majority of her life, rarely seen  in public and hence only fewer than a dozen of her poems ever saw the light of publication during her lifetime. Upon her death, it is said that over 1800 poems were found, written by her. Emily’s poems are known for their brevity, slant rhymes and my favorite, dash-filled lines which still baffles critics as to its significance.

Back to the quote; I had so many quotes to choose from but I was more inclined to the above. I mean, this is Emily Dickinson, one of the greatest writers, saying- if your nerve denies you, defy it and go above it. You know the butterfly feeling in the pit of the stomach just before we write an exam, does it stop us from writing the exam? No. Worst case scenario, we go use the toilet and then get right back to acing the exam. That’s exactly what Emily is saying, kick those nerves to the curb, defy them and go above them.

I’m going to end this with another quote of Emily which simply says- forever is composed of Nows. If not now, then when? It’s time to defy those nerves.


And that’s my submission for Writer’s Quote Wednesday, (though I know today isn’t Wednesday). Couldn’t make it the last time, and didn’t want to miss submitting twice In a row so …. Thanks for sticking with me. :).          IMAGE CREDIT

6 thoughts on “Writers quote- Emily Dickinson

Leave a Reply

