Day 14: To the one that got away.

Day 14: To the one that got away.

 image

     I thought you were the best thing that ever happened to me for a while. You didn’t get me roses everyday or candlelight dinner every other night, but you gave me what I needed the most- love, understanding and just the pleasure of having someone around who cared and accepted me perfectly with all my flaws both physical and otherwise.

It’s been 3 years now. I know you’re in Ireland and have started college at who knows what school, yeah, that’s about all I know. It’s hard let me tell you this; I don’t know if I love you or I’m just upset that you could get over me so quick. In all honesty, when you said you loved me, I was mad. All I needed then was a friend- I was a mess, my life was a wreck and my family made everything worse. And there you were complicating things, professing your love for me when all I needed was an uncomplicated hug.

         But, i’ve got to hand it to you, never have I met anyone who loved me like you did, even if it was just for a brief period of time. And I doubt if I ever will.

You have changed, I realized that the last time we spoke. I guess I shouldn’t have expected you to still be the same high school darling you were. Or maybe, you were just pretending to be a jerk, well it worked.
We were just a couple of high schoolers with complicated lives, I see how ‘we’ wouldn’t have worked anyway. I don’t beat myself up with the ‘what-ifs’ and I’m sure you don’t too. Everything was against us at that time.

Samuel O.B, I think this is how our story was meant to end. You’ll probably never get this but I just want you to know that, you meant a lot to me and I hope and pray that the guy I knew In high school is in there somewhere cause any girl would be lucky to have that guy. Have a successful life and this is it. Hopefully, this would be the end of the dreams I have of you.

                              Bye… Forever

I Found Me..

I Found Me..

image

I wish I could give all the sad people a hug
Hold them tight, whisper ‘it’d be fine”-
I’m crazy like that;
But I know it’d be all right,
Cause I was one of them,
Engulfed by the dark-
Yet yearning light;
In search of love,
Yet ignoring I.

But I found it-
The light;
It wasn’t an easy ride-
I cried, I screamed,
Then I lay down, was weak;
Oh and I prayed to be free-
All night, I beseech peace;
And He answered, cause I found it-
That peace; I found me.

And I didn’t need any hug,
I hugged myself to sleep;
And I was at peace-
My life was enough for me.