Flash Fiction: The New Neighborhood

Flash Fiction: The New Neighborhood

image.jpeg

The neighborhood was eerily quiet, with only a handful of people visible, going about their businesses. I was going to love moving here, I thought to myself. There was even a parking space reserved for me, ah, gone were the days of fighting with the neighbors over “my space, your space”.

A young fair-skinned man, dressed in jeans and a blue shirt hurried towards me, interrupting my thoughts.
“Sorry, for being late”, he said amidst breaths. He introduced himself as Mark, the real-estate agent and offered to help park my car properly while I checked out the house.

I had barely stepped inside the house, thinking what a generous person this Mark was, when the roar of a car driving off, alerted my attention. I hurried to find an empty parking space, my car gone, Β no sign of Mark and everyone else going about their businesses.

I was carless and nobody cared. Oh, how I missed my nosey neighborhood.


word count: 159. The above story is in response toΒ Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers photo prompt challenge, hosted by Priceless Joy. Thank you very much @Phylor for this week’s image.Β 

28 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: The New Neighborhood

    1. Yay!!!! πŸ˜„ the feeling is mutual Joy. I sent you an email, but I’m not sure you’ve seen it while you were on your journey. I can see you are back. Hope you had a wonderful vacation?
      Hahahaha,and yes, nosey neighbors beat the Marks’ types.

      Like

  1. Alway better the green green grass of home, then the green grass on the other side of the fence. Very well written.mike

    Like

Leave a Reply

