Flash Fiction: The New Neighborhood

Flash Fiction: The New Neighborhood

image.jpeg

The neighborhood was eerily quiet, with only a handful of people visible, going about their businesses. I was going to love moving here, I thought to myself. There was even a parking space reserved for me, ah, gone were the days of fighting with the neighbors over “my space, your space”.

A young fair-skinned man, dressed in jeans and a blue shirt hurried towards me, interrupting my thoughts.
“Sorry, for being late”, he said amidst breaths. He introduced himself as Mark, the real-estate agent and offered to help park my car properly while I checked out the house.

I had barely stepped inside the house, thinking what a generous person this Mark was, when the roar of a car driving off, alerted my attention. I hurried to find an empty parking space, my car gone,  no sign of Mark and everyone else going about their businesses.

I was carless and nobody cared. Oh, how I missed my nosey neighborhood.


word count: 159. The above story is in response to Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers photo prompt challenge, hosted by Priceless Joy. Thank you very much @Phylor for this week’s image. 

28 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: The New Neighborhood

    1. Yay!!!! 😄 the feeling is mutual Joy. I sent you an email, but I’m not sure you’ve seen it while you were on your journey. I can see you are back. Hope you had a wonderful vacation?
      Hahahaha,and yes, nosey neighbors beat the Marks’ types.

      Like

  1. Wow unexpected Ameena. What a jerk, steeling her car. I can see how she missed her suburb neighbourhood.

    Like

  2. Beautiful start and mysterious climax that makes simply apart from others. Do you know that ?

    Nice fiction . All the very best for your future write ups .

    Keep sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alway better the green green grass of home, then the green grass on the other side of the fence. Very well written.mike

    Like

Leave a comment