Writer’s Quote: Words

Writer’s Quote: Words

IMG_4712

I was listening to a lecture today by a speaker, Mufti Menk, and he was talking about having compassion for our fellow human beings.
It got me thinking, how can we have compassion unless we are kinder with our words. “Words”- a five lettered syllable which has the power to make or break another person. And yet, we throw words around like lightweight.

I say, we, because as much as I do not want to admit it, I am very much guilty of using words wrongly and hurting another with the words I have uttered. This is the reason why I am sharing this poem today by the confessional poet- Anne Sexton. This is a reminder to myself first of all, words need to be handled with care.

I hope you like the poem and get inspired by it.

Words by Anne Sexton

Be careful of words,
even the miraculous ones.
For the miraculous we do our best,
sometimes they swarm like insects
and leave not a sting but a kiss.
They can be as good as fingers.
They can be as trusty as the rock
you stick your bottom on.
But they can be both daisies and bruises.
Yet I am in love with words.
They are doves falling out of the ceiling.
They are six holy oranges sitting in my lap.
They are the trees, the legs of summer,
and the sun, its passionate face.
Yet often they fail me.
I have so much I want to say,
so many stories, images, proverbs, etc.
But the words aren’t good enough,
the wrong ones kiss me.
Sometimes I fly like an eagle
but with the wings of a wren.
But I try to take care
and be gentle to them.
Words and eggs must be handled with care.
Once broken they are impossible
things to repair.