My Kinda Warrior

My Kinda Warrior

 

image

I love reading about warriors.
Not the ones with armors,
Knives as shields;
But those whose wrists
Demand a shield;
Their hands with knives
Dig through the skin;
With blood the consequence
Of it.

These warriors battle
with what’s within-
That ‘essence’ which neither
of us Can see;
A voice that’s strong and
fierce And grim;
An enemy no one but
the warriors Can feel.

Just one more time,
The voices scream;
You know you want to,
It’s your relief;
Oh how the voices
confuse and twist;
And lie their way into,
Making us bleed.

With time this voice can be
Diminished by will;
And the warriors they hide and-
bind their wrists
Drop the knives, shield the skin;
And they might bleed-
Tomorrow
But today, they choose to live.

11 thoughts on “My Kinda Warrior

  1. This is wonderful!! Ameena, I have a question. Back in the 19th century the use to “bleed” patients to get rid of the bad blood. Does this cutting have something to do with that? Do they feel they let out the bad thoughts and feelings inside them if they cut their wrists? I hope you don’t mind me asking.

    Like

    1. Thank you PJ 🙂 . I don’t mind at all 😀 and you know, in Nigeria, it is widely practiced, cutting to get rid of bad blood. The warriors here are those who cut to drown the voices in their head and their numbness.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Are the warriors considered heros? I think it is very sad they feel the need to cut themselves to rid themselves of bad blood, drown the voices in their head and numbness. It seems to me that writing would do that so much better, writing down their feelings or just writing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, this post reminded me of my MC, Anya…
    She’s my kinda warrior 😉 Hey, don’t know if you know this already, but I wrote a book! I’d love to hear what you think if you read it, my friend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

