Choices-

Choices-

IMG_5782

Speak now or forever hold your peace.

We’ve all heard that statement in movies and reality, spoken so many times and mostly in good humor. But what happens, when those few words decide to make an appearance in the movie of our life, but not in a comic role.

How do we decide, if speaking up when our ring is about to become another’s is better than holding our peace and silence- forever. How do we weigh it? Is there even a scale for that.

How do we decide if destroying another’s fairytale is worth saving our own. Does the end justify the means in this secenerio?

What If? God forbid, what if, we weigh the odds and conclude that forever is too long a time for us to hold our peace, we muster the courage, speak the words of our heart, and they fall only on the ears of its recipient but not his heart. Would it be worth it then?

Or should we stick to mama’s saying- if he really wants you, he’d come running back even if he’s about to say I do. And if he doesn’t, no one wants a coward anyway.
But what if we wait, and- he doesn’t?

13 thoughts on “Choices-

  1. Lol I think you just accept it and move on. Even if he did come back it would be on the back of a broken heart. Which taints any possible relationship.
    Falling in love is pretty easy, so keep your pride and you will find a better.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Some reciprocal thoughts:
    Should I put my desires, wants and needs, above his and/or hers?
    Do I have a right to risk/sacrifice another’s happiness in order to achieve my own?
    Is my perspective on what could be, the only perspective to consider?
    Can an attempt to manipulate a relationship ever be justified?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Colin. Can I just say you give the best advice. This prose now seems like a selfish perspective, (thanks for opening my eyes to that). I am going to save these thoughts of uiura and read them over again when needed because I really need to hear them.
      Thank you 😄

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Ameena, you are right, Colin can say some very wise words……sometimes 🙂
      I just wanted to chime in, because you said how selfish your prose seemed. If it is any consolation, let me tell you that over 20 years ago those words could have been mine!
      I had been hurt and yes the exact thoughts that you penned crossed my mind.
      BUT…I kept quiet and it was only a few years later that I met my husband to be..my husband now for 21 years! 🙂
      Surprises can be just around the corner when things look the worse!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “Don’t ever mistake by silence for ignorance, my calmness for acceptance, and my kindness for weakness.” Seems to fit here pretty good Ameena! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

