Unlike the other woman-

Unlike the other woman-

IMG_5471

“But I love you,” he said.
And I wondered where he got the notion that saying the words “I love you” was akin to an eraser which wipes off a slate of past mistakes; a chant which hypnotises one into prompt obedience regardless of the absurdity of the orders; a piece of blindfold over a woman’s eyes to block off the reality of events.

Or maybe, he just assumed I am like the other woman who had come and gone. A blooming soul withered by a facade of love, fed on sugar coated words which tasted like nothing- nothing- a compilation of meaningless gestures- suffocating.

And maybe (cause I can only assume as mama always said speak for yourself alone) he was fed on the notion that love is blind, love is an eraser and love hypnotises in the hands of a man.

But honey, Living has taught me, you can scream I love you until the oxygen carrying capacity of your lungs deplete, without sincerity in action, it don’t mean nothing. Call me cynical, but living otherwise would have me ending up just like the other woman. A washed-up replica of a once upon a time star. 

13 thoughts on “Unlike the other woman-

  1. Past experiences can harden ones outlook on present ones. The words “I love you” has less meaning and impact on one with previous experiences and present ones. No one wants to end up as a “once upon a time star!” Words used should have true meaning, not just used in passing. Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thank you very much. I am actually smiling right now as I read this because, this is one of my least favourites in a whirl but it has surprisingly been getting some great responses. So thank you

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

