Writer’s Quote: Mother to son

Writer’s Quote: Mother to son

IMG_5326

It’s Wednesday, which means, it’s time for writers quote Wednesday again. Today, I picked the quote above that speaks about “giving up”, which is a topic I believe is timely and cannot be said enough. The poem I chose to go with the quote is one by one  of my favourite poets, Langston Hughes. 

The poem is about a conversation between a mother and her son; it’s actually a one sided conversation, with the mother doing all the talking and the son, I envision, is taking it all in, in silence. A scene I am all  too familiar with, but I digress. Below is the poem, 

Mother To Son by Langston Hughes

Well, son, I’ll tell you:
Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
It’s had tacks in it,
And splinters,
And boards torn up,
And places with no carpet on the floor—
Bare.

But all the time
I’se been a-climbin’ on,
And reachin’ landin’s,
And turnin’ corners,
And sometimes goin’ in the dark
Where there ain’t been no light.

So, boy, don’t you turn back.
Don’t you set down on the steps.
‘Cause you finds it’s kinder hard.
Don’t you fall now—
For I’se still goin’, honey,
I’se still climbin’,
And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.

Don’t feel shy to share your thoughts on the poem and let me know if you are already familiar with the Poem. 

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote: Mother to son

  1. Thank you so much for sharing a new quote with us (even though I’ve only just literally stumbled across your blog 🙈) ✨ The quote in the picture was super inspirational, and I loved the poem even more so! My overall reaction to the poem, was that despite the harshness of life and what it may do to you, marching onwards is always the way to succeed! I’ve come across Langston H’s poems before but not this one in particular if I recall correctly that is 🙈 I can be a tad bit forgetful at times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The pleasure Is mine, thnak you for reading. Haha, welcome to my blog 😄🙋🏼. I love your interpretation of this poem, and that is exactly what I believe it talks about. We’ve got to keep on marching onwards 💃🏼

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

