Writer’s Quote: Personal

Writer’s Quote: Personal

image.png

I was planning on skipping this week’s writers quote post because it has been a roller coaster kind of week, as evidenced by my lack of posts. But then, something happened today which I took personally. I know I shouldn’t take it personal because it’s really that small, but guess what, I am human and it hurt me and I took it personally. It’s almost midnight so hopefully, tomorrow, I wouldn’t feel the same way. But for now, here is a poem by Tony Hoagland titled Personally

Don’t take it personal, they said;
but I did, I took it all quite personal—

the breeze and the river and the color of the fields;
the price of grapefruit and stamps,

the wet hair of women in the rain—
And I cursed what hurt me

and I praised what gave me joy,
the most simple-minded of possible responses.

The government reminded me of my father,
with its deafness and its laws,

and the weather reminded me of my mom,
with her tropical squalls.

Enjoy it while you can, they said of Happiness
Think first, they said of Talk

Get over it, they said
at the School of Broken Hearts

but I couldn’t and I didn’t and I don’t
believe in the clean break;

I believe in the compound fracture
served with a sauce of dirty regret,

I believe in saying it all
and taking it all back

and saying it again for good measure
while the air fills up with I’m-Sorries

like wheeling birds
and the trees look seasick in the wind.

Oh life! Can you blame me
for making a scene?

You were that yellow caboose, the moon
disappearing over a ridge of cloud.

I was the dog, chained in some fool’s backyard;
barking and barking:

trying to convince everything else
to take it personal too.

Have you ever taken things personally when it’s probably trivial and you know you shouldn’t take it personal too?

The above image is courtesy of Behappy.me

19 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote: Personal

    1. I see I am not the only one. Although, I think I am trying now to not take things personally. Thank you very much Colin for the support. Ha, one of these days. I might just take you up on that!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. ‘ I believe in saying it all and taking it all back ‘… This one made me smile ; although that is not me at all.
    I strive to be balanced and compassionate and forgiving but of course I still slip up and take things personally.
    It is a lovely poem and I hope by the time you wrote the blog post and thought back on the hurt you had, it lost its power on you and now you are back to your shining, cheerful self. Have a good day! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Sona. I woke up today, and during the day thought, “oh heck”, I shuld learn to pick my battles and somethings just aren’t worth it. Today I can honestly say, has been a good day. And I will try and take a leaf from your book and be more forgiving. So thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my friend, sorry you were hurt and that this week has been a roller coaster of emotions for you. I know about roller coasters. Sent you an email. Hugs and ❤ ! Yes, you are not alone in taking things personally at times.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly, I’m glad you posted! And sorry that you were hurt.
    Secondly, that poem was heart breaking. </3
    Lastly, yes I do take things personally and then it hurts. 😦 But I really like this quote you shared.I desperately need to stick to this! Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

