Day 19: Family…

Day 19: Family…

image.png

She’d wake me-
in the middle of the sleep,
With a smack,
Girl! Draw your skirt down;
Don’t you know,
We are not the only ones,
On this land,
You, cover those thighs.

It maybe dark,
But it don’t mean “they” can’t see us.

And that was my mother…

I’d wake her-
In the middle of the night,
She’d groan,
Go meet your father.
My stomach’s growling-
“Mama, I really am sick”
Go meet your father!

She’s spent her fair share
Of waking in the night, she’d say-
When I was a baby.
It’s his turn now,
To live the joys of fatherhood;
And that was my mother.

She raises six kids,
Singlehandeldy in the day,
So night is all hers.
She makes up rules which
Only she’s allowed to break,
Yet, we still love her.


Day 19: Family (December Poetry Challenge). This is the 3rd poem I’ve written regarding this prompt. The first two just seemed too mushy, and inΒ a way unbelievable, it felt like the family I depicted was perfect and we all know that’s far from reality. I’m having an exam tomorrow so it was fun to write something a bit lighthearted for a change.

11 thoughts on “Day 19: Family…

  1. At the beginning you kind of think she’s being a bad mother. Then you realize all day she deals with six-kids and raised them from the time they were babies. She needs time to recover, sleep, etc. so at the same time I feel she deserves to have the nights. Although, I feel kind of bad for her older daughter having to meet her Dad while sick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

