Flash Fiction: Grief…

Flash Fiction: Grief…

photo-20160307081540191

Jenna was leaning against a wall at the edge of a long winded passageway. Her body, obscuring a better half of the passage from the rays of the sun.
My feet were tired from running, and I swear I could hear the incessant terrifying flutter of my heart. It was times like those, I regretted not putting in extra couple of hours at the gym.

By the time I got to Jenna, I was panting, barely able to make complete sentences.
“We’ve been worried sick looking for you!”, I managed after a few moments of getting-myself-together.
Jenna looked up and smiled. I could tell from the redness of her sclera and her stained cheeks, she’d been crying… Again.

I made space for myself beside her. Eventually she spoke,
“This grief, does it- does it ever get easier”, she choked. Placing her hand on what used to be a growing bump, her baby bump.
Staring into the abyss, I placed her hand in mine and let the silence answer…


word count :168. This story is in response to Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers photo prompt challenge. Thank you @storyteller’sabode for this week’s image.

I know I have been awol this week. I will try my best starting today to get around all the long overdue comments for which I do apologize. And I do miss reading you posts and I’m looking forward to them.

33 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Grief…

  1. Hi Ameena,

    This well-written story touched me deeply, the loss of a child must feel like the loss of a piece of one’s self.

    @ β€œThis grief, does it- does it ever get easier”. I wonder too.

    I think of Grief as the gift that keeps on giving, one expects the passage of time to numb the pain. Some days the pain lessens and on other days, without warning, it comes back with all the fury of a hurricane, fresh and raw.

    Memories are like raindrops that nurture grief, it’s hard to let go of what you cannot forget. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, thank you very much. I am so glad you felt that about this story. You described it perfectly. I felt like there was no right answer as to the duration of grief. I have learnt that we all grieve in different ways. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

