Happy endings…

Happy endings…

image

For a long time, i thought, it was going to be you. My happy ending was finally coming true. Us against the world, an imperfect but happy life. And then, it was just me. Alone, with my thoughts at dawn. I can’t even describe how it happened. The phone calls stopped all of sudden. People say, love is a growing emotion and I thought it’d be the same for the reverse. No apologies, no explanations, no accusation, it just stopped- our conversations. You didn’t bother anymore.

The only explanation- maybe you didn’t love me, maybe you never loved me. And that makes no sense. Not to me, not now, and maybe not ever.

Alone with my thoughts at dawn, trying to find the silver lining, of a crushed happy ending.


day 27 of October Poetry Writing Month. Today’s prompt: What is your happy ending? Write for ten minutes asking yourself that question. IMAGE CREDIT:Β imgfave.com

39 thoughts on “Happy endings…

  1. Someone, and right now I can’t recall who, once said and the saying goes something like this:
    “when a door closes, a window opens”.

    I’m sure when the window opens, the fresh air will lighten and cheer your soul.

    A very beautifully written piece – well expressed and vivid.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. So true. My husband and I always tell our kids that, “you can’t always get what you want.” Such an important lesson to learn.
        Hope you had an amazing weekend Ammena.
        πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t listen to that person who said there are no silver linings…pssh…If we are stardust then we can pluck the materials from the galaxies of the Universe to create our own happy realities….Be your own kinda of happy…In other words…BE YOUR OWN CREATOR!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

