The ones in glass houses-

The ones in glass houses-

image

I can scream and I can shout, what difference would it make to-
the ones at the top, who believe the world is their game-
and they live with their crowns, reveling in people’s misery-
and they shut their glass doors, to the voices of masses crippling.

And I try and I’ll try, little difference it makes to those-
whose hearts have been numbed, by vices a long time ago.
And my words, flutter past, their ears like empty promises-
and they think, their silence, over time will diminish my spirit.

One by one the rest may fall to the ground,
but I implant my feet in the soil of the land-
and the silence thrown by the ones wearing crowns,
only help to make my resolve grow stronger.
And the glass doors shut to our pleading cries,
will one day crumble from the strength of our voices-
and with that I go to sleep every night-
and I wonder, I ponder how you sleep at night.

I will scream and I will shout, I believe it will make a difference-
and if not, then I’ll die trying, knowing I did my sole best.
‘Cause I know, it’s not time to worry yet,
and my lungs aren’t saturated-
you can sleep tonight while my tears hole the ground,
they remind me my heart hasn’t numbed from your acts.
And the glass doors that shelter you will come to crack,
awaiting that is what keeps my feet on the ground.
And indeed, that day will arrive.

IMAGE CREDIT: photo gallery.com

14 thoughts on “The ones in glass houses-

  1. Hello ๐Ÿ™‚ I have chosen you for the blogger recognition award. If you decide to accept you can see the link to the post hereโ€ฆ.http://gentlementalannie.com/2015/08/27/encouraging-thunder-award-and-blogger-recognition-award/

    You can copy and paste the badge from the post. Let me know if you have any trouble with anything. If you choose not to accept, donโ€™t worry. These awards are time consuming. Just know that I thought of you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Namaste,
    Annie<3

    Like

  2. Hi Ameena… this one is very poignant and beautiful, I really like it. I can connect with it so well. “I will scream and I will shout, I believe it will make a difference-and if not, then Iโ€™ll die trying, knowing I did my sole best” it is my favorite part

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is an absolutely important topic so fantastically written. Always speak up for the change you want to see in the world! I just wish I could write about things like this in an artistic way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

