I do not want to grow old alone-

I do not want to grow old alone-

I do not want to grow up, old and bitter
Being the old lady who’s sour and a screamer;
Lonely and cold on a windy Friday night,
sitting and knitting under a full moon light;
Oblivious to its beauty, lost in past thoughts
Of a life long gone, never to return.

I do not want to be known as the debby downer;
One who drowns children in tales of old times-
Of witches and wizards and rumples’ disguise,
Misleading true lovers and preaching a life-
Where love is a farce and fairytales don’t last.

I do not want to die old with no one to hold;
No one to laugh at my old woman jokes;
No one to decipher the pain in my scorn;
No one to joke at my degrading neurons.

I do not want to live till the sun goes extinct;
The dark takes up it’s place, I do not want it-
To live with mere shadows of myself, lonely me.

I do not want laughter to come from the street,
Through windows with no one to cheer me within.

I do not want to grow old and wither all alone.

13 thoughts on “I do not want to grow old alone-

    1. Thank you for the advice. I do pray I grow old and happy. And you are right about the bitter young ones, maybe I should write one about that “I don’t want to be known as the bitter angry youth” 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I hope you do grow old, but filled with joy and satisfaction, an inspiration to those that follow! I love, “…no one to decipher the pain in my scorn.” Because you’re right, of course–pain is the root, and scorn’s just an offshoot. Lovely work.

    Like

  2. lovely writing! I worked in a nursing home and saw the lonely old women, you described it well. But I have faith that you won’t grow up to be like that, you bring joy now, you are going to continue to bring joy 🙂 You have a great gift of touching peoples hearts with your writings!

    Like

    1. Thank you georgette. I am glad you could relate to it 🙂 . I know growing old is meant to be a beautiful thing, but from what i have seen, it’s like you said, I fear the loneliness it sometimes comes with. Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

